Life cycle of a cyber attack

To get protected against cyber attacks, it is essential to know how attackers proceed. Using the Cyber Kill Chain® designed by Lockheed-Martin1 , we can understand what methods cyber criminals use to smuggle malware into the company.

The following is an example of an attack. We have summarized the attack process and added possible defense measures for each step.2

Important to know: This is a possible attack scenario. An attacker has a multitude of different attack vectors.

Cyber Kill Chain - Reconnaisance

1. Reconnaisscance

In the first phase, all available information is searched and collected. The terms OSINT, SOCMINT, TECHINT, HUMINT used in technical jargon offer a variety of techniques for information retrieval.

OSINT - Open Source Intelligence - Used to collect information and gain knowledge. Attackers use freely available, open sources of information such as television, radio, print media, publications, forums, blogs or classic the company website.

SOCMINT - Social Media Intelligence - Used to collect information in social media such as LinkedIn, Xing, Facebook and co.

TECHINT - Technical Intelligence - Serves the analysis of technical systems such as networks or servers using technical tools.

HUMINT - Human Intelligence - is the procurement of information by using human sources by e.g. former employees.

Name, e-mail address and position combined with private information is all that is needed and provides an ideal template for a spear phishing e-mail.

Cyber criminals can make it even easier for themselves by buying records with further information in the darknet. In the meantime, there are numerous marketplaces that deal with trading data.

If technically skilled attackers plan an attack, they typically obtain technical information through various channels. Network scanners offer a remedy. With such a security tool it is possible to learn more about the network topology of the company, in order to launch specific attacks against insufficiently protected interfaces.

Target of the attackers: Find and collect all useful information.

How can you protect yourself?

  • Limit the information provided to others. Publish only what is necessary.
  • Explain to your employees the danger of public profiles in social media.
  • Disable unused services and ports. Protect your business with a firewall and other security tools.
Cyber Kill Chain - Weaponization

2. Weaponization

In the second phase, the found information is used to find a suitable method for an attack. If the technical barriers are too large or if there is no security hole available, cyber criminals usually use other ways to bypass the security systems. They use social engineering attacks like spear phishing mails or CEO fraud3. These methods of attack are characterized by the fact that no security measures really provide relief, because the psychology of the person is exploited.

Goal of the attackers: Using attack vectors based on the obtained information

How can you protect yourself?

  • Run an appropriate patch management and make sure that the systems are always up to date.
  • Disable Office macros and limit the use of JavaScript.
  • Disable add-ons like Flash. These can contribute that malware is executed without being installed on your system.
  • Use common technical protection measures such as antivirus programs, intrusion prevention systems, multi-factor authentication and implement security information and event management
Cyber Kill Chain - Delivery

3. Delivery

In the third phase, the attacker seeks an optimal way to place the malicious code into the system. The most popular and at the same time easiest way to spread the malicious code is via a phishing e-mail. According to the 2019 Data Breach Investigation Report,4 , 94% of malware delivery methods are email and 45% of emails receive infected Office documents. Besides e-mails there are also USB sticks which are distributed in the vicinity of the company premises. Depending on the access to their company, attackers could also leave the prepared USB stick in more inconspicuous places, such as the canteen, lounge or office.

Goal of the attackersTo smuggle the malicious code into the system.

How can you protect yourself?

  • Sensitize your employees.
  • Run a security awareness campaign.
  • Found USB sticks or other devices should under no circumstances be simply plugged into the computer.
Cyber Kill Chain - Exploitation

4. Exploitation

Let's suppose that accounting employee Paul has received an e-mail from his financial manager Klara asking him to update the attached Excel document with the current data and send it back to her. Conscientious as Paul is, he quickly gets to work. He downloads the document, activates the macros and is stunned because the spreadsheet is empty. Real cyber attacks usually occur in a similar way. As soon as an employee downloads an infected attachment and activates the macros, the attacker can find ways to spread himself systematically.

Goal of the attackers: Obtain the privileged rights on the system.

How can you protect yourself?

  • Use Data Execution Prevention System (DEP) to prevent malicious code from being executed in a privileged area.
  • Install anti-exploit software to have protection against security vulnerabilities.
Cyber Kill Chain Installation

5. Installation

Attackers will attempt to gain administrative privileges after they have gained initial access. They then look for ways to spread out in the network. They use tools available on traditional systems, on Windows this would be PowerShell, WMI or other tools like psexec. These tools allow you to download malicious code and connect to an external server, a control server. This attack method is called "Living off the Land".

Goal of the attackers: Secure access to the system

How can you protect yourself?

  • To limit the damage it is recommended to use Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) solutions, which consist of tools that detect malicious activity in your networks.
  • Have an emergency plan ready for your employees so that they know what to do in case of a leak.
  • Set up your systems completely new after an infestation.

6. C&C

The control server is a system that controls the communication between the attacker and the infected system. Using the control server, the attacker can remotely control the system and manipulate or reload malicious code at will. Nowadays, attackers rent cloud services with automated domain generation algorithms to make tracking significantly more difficult.

Goal of the attackers: Remote access and control of the system.

How can you protect yourself?

  • Segment your networks to make lateral movement more difficult.
  • Use Next Generation Firewalls, which not only examine the protocol and port used, but also control their content to detect unusual activity.
  • Use current Indicators of Compromise (IoC) that indicate a possible compromise.
Cyber Kill Chain - Actions on objectives

7. Actions on objectives

Depending on the motivation of the attacker, there are numerous possible scenarios in which the attacker can accomplish his work. In the last phase, the attacker executes his original plan. Possible scenarios would be, for example, copying company secrets, manipulating or reading out data, sabotage of the entire systems or intrusion into other systems.

Example: Shrewd attackers diverted the payment traffic at a Könizer company, Haag-Streit, and got away with 2.4 million Swiss francs5. According to the company spokesman Christof Gassner, the perpetrators have been reading the e-mail traffic for a while and noticed that a transfer payment is pending. The payment was diverted to an account in Mexico. The criminals have left with the money and the proceedings are still ongoing, but the prospects for Hague dispute to get the money back are poor.

Goal of the attackers: Execute the desired action

How can you protect yourself?

  • Use Data Leakage Prevetion (DLP) systems to prevent unwanted data leakage.
  • Using User Behaviour Analysis (UBA), you can identify patterns in user data that indicate possible malicious behavior.

 

Attackers must go through the entire process to reach their target, while defenders can only stop the attack at one level. In some cases, such as vishing, single or multiple steps are skipped. As you can see from the Cyber Kill Chain, there are numerous technical solutions to limit damage. In order to prevent a successful attack in the first place, we recommend raising awareness of possible delivery.

Your employees are mostly the first line of defense. If your employees are trained to deal with the dangers with the help of a security awareness campaign or a phishing simulation, you have significantly increased the security of your company. If the barricades are too high for the attacker in advance, it will also be unattractive for other attackers to pursue you as a target.

1 https://www.lockheedmartin.com/en-us/capabilities/cyber/cyber-kill-chain.html

² The CISO Perspective (5th of February 2019). Breaking the Kill Chain: A defensive Approach.

[Video] Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=II91fiUax2g

3 https://www.sans.org/security-awareness-training/blog/applying-security-awareness-cyber-kill-chain

4 https://enterprise.verizon.com/resources/reports/2019-data-breach-investigations-report.pdf

5 https://www.nau.ch/ort/koniz/konizer-firma-wird-gehackt-und-ausgebeutet-65764179

Lebenszyklus eines Cyberangriffs

Um sich gegen Cyber-Angriffe zu schützen, ist es essenziell zu wissen, wie Angreifer vorgehen. Anhand der von Lockheed-Martin konzipierten Cyber Kill Chain®1 können wir nachvollziehen, welche Vorgehensweise Cyberkriminelle nutzen, um Schadsoftware ins Unternehmen zu schleusen.

Im Folgenden finden Sie einen Beispiel-Angriff. Dazu haben wir den Angriffs-Prozess zusammengefasst und zu jedem Schritt mögliche Verteidigungsmaßnahmen ergänzt.2

Wichtig zu wissen: Es handelt sich hierbei um ein mögliches Angriffsszenario. Ein Angreifer hat eine Vielzahl an diversen Angriffsvektoren.

Cyber Kill Chain - Reconnaisance

1. Auskundschaften (Reconnaisscance)

In der ersten Phase werden alle verfügbare Information gesucht und gesammelt. Die im Technischen Jargon benutzen Begriffe OSINT, SOCMINT, TECHINT, HUMINT bieten eine Vielzahl an Techniken zur Informationsgewinnung an.

OSINT – Open Source Intelligence – Dient zur Sammlung von Information und Gewinnung von Erkenntnissen. Angreifer nutzen frei verfügbare, offene Informationsquellen wie Fernsehen, Radio, Printmedien, Publikationen, Foren, Blogs oder Klassisch die Unternehmens-Website.

SOCMINT – Social Media Intelligence – Dient zur Sammlung von Informationen in den Sozialen Medien wie LinkedIn, Xing, Facebook und co.

TECHINT – Technical Intelligence – Dient der Analyse von Technischen Systemen wie z.B. Netzwerke oder Server durch technische Hilfsmittel.

HUMINT – Human Intelligence – Ist die Beschaffung der Informationen mittels menschlicher Quellen durch z.B. Ehemalige Mitarbeiter.

Name, E-Mail-Adresse und Position kombiniert mit privaten Informationen reichen schon aus und bieten eine ideale Vorlage für eine Spear-Phishing-Mail.

Noch einfacher können es sich die Cyberkriminellen machen, wenn sie Datensätze mit Zugängen oder weiteren Informationen im Darknet kaufen. Mittlerweile existieren zahlreiche Marktplätze, die mit dem Handel von Zugangsdaten Geschäfte abschließen.

Planen technisch versierte Angreifer einen Angriff, beschaffen sie sich typischerweise technische Informationen über verschiedene Wege. Abhilfe bieten Netzwerkscanner an. Mit so einem Sicherheitstool ist es möglich mehr über die Netzwerk Topologie des Unternehmens zu erfahren, um anschließend zielgerichtete Angriffe gegen ungenügend geschützte Schnittstellen zu fahren.

Ziel der Angreifer: Alle nützlichen Informationen finden und sammeln.

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Limitieren Sie die zur Verfügung gestellten Information nach außen. Publizieren sie nur das nötige.
  • Erklären Sie ihren Mitarbeiter die Gefahr von Öffentlichen Profilen in den Sozialen Medien.
  • Deaktivieren Sie nicht genutzte Dienste und Ports. Schützen Sie ihr Unternehmen mit einer Firewall und anderen Sicherheitstools.
Cyber Kill Chain - Weaponization

2. Bewaffnung (Weaponization)

In der zweiten Phase werden die gefunden Information dazu genutzt eine geeignete Angriffsmethode zu finden. Sind die Technischen Barrieren zu groß oder hat man gerade keine Sicherheitslücke parat greifen Cyberkriminelle üblicherweise auf andere Wege, die die Sicherheitssysteme umgehen. Sie nutzten Social-Engineering Angriffe wie Spear-Phishing-Mails oder CEO-Fraud3. Diese Angriffsmethoden zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass keine Sicherheitsmaßnahmen wirklich Abhilfe schaffen, da die Psychologie des Menschen ausgenutzt wird.

Ziel der Angreifer: Auf Basis der gewonnen Informationen Angriffsvektoren nutzen.

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Führen Sie ein geeignetes Patchmanagement und achten Sie darauf, dass die Systeme immer auf dem neuesten Stand sind.
  • Deaktivieren Sie Office-Makros und begrenzen Sie die Nutzung von JavaScript.
  • Deaktivieren Sie Add-Ons wie Flash. Diese können dazu beitragen das Schadsoftware ohne Installation auf ihrem System ausgeführt wird.
  • Nutzen Sie die gängigen Technischen Schutzmaßnahmen wie Antiviren-Programme, Intrusion Prevention Systeme, Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung und führen Sie ein Security Information and Event Management
Cyber Kill Chain - Delivery

3. Lieferung (Delivery)

In der dritten Phase sucht der Angreifer einen optimalen Weg den Schadcode in das System zu platzieren. Der beliebteste und zugleich einfachste Weg den Schadcode zu verbreiten ist mittels Phishing-Mails. Laut dem 2019 Data Breach Investigation Report4 sind sage und schreibe 94% der Zustellungsmethoden für Schadcode die E-Mail und 45 % der E-Mails erhalten infizierte Office Dokumente. Neben E-Mails bieten sich auch USB-Sticks an, die in der Nähe des Unternehmensgelände verteilt werden. Abhängig von dem Zugang zu ihrem Unternehmen könnten Angreifer auch den präparierten USB-Stick an unauffälligeren Orten liegen lassen, wie in der Kantine, in der Lounge oder in einem Büro.

Ziel der AngreiferDen Schadcode in das System zu schleusen.

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Sensibilisieren Sie Ihre Mitarbeiter.
  • Führen Sie eine Security-Awareness-Kampagne durch.
  • Gefundene USB-Sticks oder andere Geräte sollten auf keinen Fall einfach in den Rechner gesteckt werden.
Cyber Kill Chain - Exploitation

4. Ausnutzung von Schwachstellen (Exploitation)

Nehmen wir an, Buchhaltungsmitarbeiter Paul hat eine E-Mail von seiner Finanzleiterin Klara erhalten mit der Bitte das im Anhang beigefügte Excel-Dokument mit den aktuellen Daten zu updaten und es ihr zurückzusenden. Pflichtbewusst wie Paul ist, macht er sich zügig an die Arbeit. Er lädt das Dokument herunter, aktiviert die Makros und ist verblüfft, den das Spreadsheet ist leer. So ähnlich erfolgen meist reale Cyberangriffe. Sobald ein Mitarbeiter einen infizierten Anhang runterlädt und die Makros aktiviert kann der Angreifer Wege finden sich systematisch auszubreiten.

Ziel der Angreifer: Erlangen der privilegierten Rechte auf dem System.

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Nutzen Sie Data Execution Prevention System (DEP) um eine Ausführung von Schadcode in einem privilegierten Bereich zu verhindern.
  • Installieren Sie Anti-Exploit Software, um Schutz vor Sicherheitslücken zu haben.
Cyber Kill Chain Installation

5. Sicherung des Zugangs (Installation)

Angreifer versuchen, wenn sie sich erstmaligen Zugang beschaffen haben, Administrationsrechte zu erlagen. Anschließend suchen sie nach Wegen sich im Netzwerk auszubreiten. Sie nutzen Tools, die bei herkömmlichen Systemen vorhanden sind, bei Windows wäre das PowerShell, WMI oder weitere Tools wie psexec. Diese Tools erlauben Schadcode nachzuladen und eine Verbindung zu einem externen Server, einem Kontrollserver, herzustellen. Man nennt diese Angriffsmethode „Living off the Land“.

Ziel der Angreifer: Zugang zum System sichern

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Um den Schaden zu begrenzen empfiehlt es sich Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) Lösungen zu nutzen, diese bestehen aus Tools die bösartige Aktivitäten in Ihren Netzwerken entdecken.
  • Halten Sie für Ihre Mitarbeiter einen Notfall-Plan bereit, damit diese im Falle einer Kompromittierung wissen was zu tun.
  • Setzen Sie nach einem Befall Ihre Systeme komplett neu auf.

6. Fernsteuern (C&C)

Der Kontrollserver ist ein System, welches die Kommunikation zwischen Angreifer und Infiziertem System regelt. Mittels dem Kontrollserver kann der Angreifer das System aus der Ferne steuern und nach Belieben Manipulieren oder Schadcode nachladen. Heutzutage mieten Angreifer Cloud-Dienste mit automatisierten Domänengenerierungsalgorithmen, um eine Verfolgung deutlich zu erschweren.

Ziel der Angreifer: Fernzugriff und Steuerung des System.

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Segmentieren Sie Ihre Netzwerke, um eine Laterale Bewegung zu erschweren.
  • Nutzen Sie Next Generation Firewalls, diese untersuchen nicht nur das verwendete Protokoll und den Port, sondern kontrollieren auch deren Inhalt, um ungewöhnliche Aktivitäten feststellen zu können.
  • Nutzen Sie aktuelle Kompromittierungsindikatoren (Indicator of Compromise – IoC) die auf eine mögliche Kompromittierung hinweisen.
Cyber Kill Chain - Actions on objectives

7. Aktionen (Actions on objectives)

Je nach Motivation des Angreifer bestehen hier zahlreiche mögliche Szenarien, in denen der Angreifer sein Werk vollbringen kann. In der letzten Phase führt der Angreifer seinen ursprünglichen Plan aus. Mögliche Szenarien wären zum Beispiel das Kopieren der Betriebsgeheimnisse, das Manipulieren oder Auslesen von Daten, Sabotage der gesamten Systeme oder das Eindringen in weitere Systeme.

Beispiel: Gewiefte Angreifer haben bei einer Könizer Firma, Haag-Streit, den Zahlungsverkehr umgeleitet und damit 2,4 Millionen Schweizer Franken erbeutet5. Laut dem Konzernsprecher Christof Gassner haben die Täter eine Zeit lang den Mailverkehr mitgelesen und bemerkt das eine Transferzahlung ansteht. Die Zahlung wurde auf ein Konto in Mexiko umgeleitet. Die Kriminellen sind mit dem Geld weg und das Verfahren läuft noch, doch die Aussichten für Haag-Streit das Geld wieder zubekommen stehen schlecht.

Ziel der Angreifer: Die gewünschte Aktion durchführen

Wie können Sie sich schützen?

  • Nutzen Sie Data Leakage Prevetion (DLP) Systeme, um unerwünschten Datenabfluss zu verhindern.
  • Mittels User Behaviour Analysis (UBA) können Sie Muster in den Nutzerdaten erkennen, die auf ein mögliches bösartiges Verhalten hinweisen.

 

Angreifer müssen den gesamten Prozess durchlaufen, um an ihr Ziel zu gelangen, während Verteidiger lediglich auf einer Stufe den Angriff stoppen können. In einigen Fällen beispielweiße Vishing werden einzelne oder auch mehrere Schritte übersprungen. Wie Sie anhand der Cyber Kill Chain sehen, existieren zahlreiche technische Lösungen, um eine Schadensbegrenzung zu erreichen. Um es erst gar nicht zu einem erfolgreichen Angriff kommen zu lassen, empfehlen wir die Sensibilisierung gegen mögliche Zustellungen.

Ihre Mitarbeiter sind meisten die erste Linie der Verteidigung. Sind Ihre Mitarbeiter mittels einer Security Awareness Kampagne oder einer Phishing Simulation geschult darin mit den Gefahren umzugehen, haben Sie die Sicherheit Ihres Unternehmens erheblich gesteigert. Sind die Barrikaden für den Angreifer im Vorfeld zu hoch, wird es ebenfalls für andere Angreifer unattraktiv sein Sie als Angriffsziel zu verfolgen.

1 https://www.lockheedmartin.com/en-us/capabilities/cyber/cyber-kill-chain.html

² The CISO Perspective (05.02.2019). Breaking the Kill Chain: A defensive Approach.

[Video] Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=II91fiUax2g

3 https://www.sans.org/security-awareness-training/blog/applying-security-awareness-cyber-kill-chain

4 https://enterprise.verizon.com/resources/reports/2019-data-breach-investigations-report.pdf

5 https://www.nau.ch/ort/koniz/konizer-firma-wird-gehackt-und-ausgebeutet-65764179